Orders after December 19, will be delivered at the beginning of next year!

New releases

Calls, Studies & Games - SaVaSa Trio

The SaVaSa Trio, founded in 2013 by the brass players Sava Stoianov (trumpet), Valentín Garvie (trumpet) and Saar Berger (French horn), presents its first recording, the double CD ›Calls, Studies & Games‹, which unites works commissioned for this relatively uncharted instrumentation. The works, which were created in close cooperation with composers such as Beat Furrer, Martin Matalon, Bernhard Gander and many others, represent various musical fields, from classical music via improvisation to jazz and world music.

  • Composers
  • Matej Bonin
  • Elliott Carter
  • Beat Furrer
  • Bernhard Gander
  • Márton Illés
  • Chikage Imai
  • Hermann Kretzschmar
  • Damon Thomas Lee
  • Martin Matalon
  • Vassos Nicolaou
  • Marcelo Perticone
  • Steingrimur Rohloff
  • Natalio Sued
  • Manfred Trojahn
  • Adalberto Vidal
  • Vito Žuraj


SaVaSa Trio
Calls, Studies & Games
Sava Stoianov, trumpet
Valentín Garvie, trumpet
Saar Berger, French horn

  • 2 CDs
  • EM Medien
  • Release: 2017
  • Total playing time: 123.42


CD 1

Elliott Carter: Call 1.46

Beat Furrer: Studie 2.29

Chikage Imai: Interweave 2.16

Vassos Nicolaou: Erinyes 4.25

Matej Bonin: Momentum 3.11

Bernhard Gander: insincere sermon 3.33

Manfred Trojahn: Introduzione e scherzettino 4.10

Marcelo Perticone: Appunti 2.44

Martin Matalon: Metal sobre Metal 8.52

Steingrimur Rohloff: Raw Food 4.03

Márton Illés: Én-kör I 3.53

Natalio Sued: From White to Black 2.17

Natalio Sued: Warming Up 4.45

Natalio Sued: Prisma 2.51

Damon Lee: The Razor‘s Edge 5.02

Miguel Galperín: From Dust to Dust 1.32

Vito Žuraj: Quiet, please! 3.45

Valentín Garvie: Anti-Vienna 0.36

CD 2

Hermann Kretzschmar: SaVaSa Games 13.41

Hermann Kretzschmar: New SaVaSa Games 14.04

Adalberto Andrés Vidal: Cinco estudios 27.29

for viola
Portrait Megumi Kasakawa

Megumi Kasakawa (viola) is featured on ›for viola‹ performing ten compositions from the past 100 years which explore different sound options on the viola, including »classics« by Elliot Carter, Heinz Holliger and Hans Werner Henze, but also the highly virtuoso works dedicated to her by Márton Illés and Matej Bonin.

  • Composers
  • William Bergsma
  • Matej Bonin
  • Elliott Carter
  • Hans Werner Henze
  • Heinz Holliger
  • Márton Illés
  • Tristan Murail
  • Helmut Zapf
  • Bernd Alois Zimmermann


Megumi Kasakawa (Viola), Christian Hommel (Oboe, Englischhorn), Ueli Wiget (Klavier), Paul Cannon (Kontrabass)

  • CD
  • EM Medien
  • EMCD-036
  • Release: 2017
  • Total playing time: 74.15


Quincy Porter (1897–1966)
Suite for Viola Alone (1930)

William Bergsma (1921–94)
Fantastic Variations on a Theme from Tristan for Viola and Piano (1961)

Matej Bonin (*1986)
Impetus for Viola (2014)

Helmut Zapf (*1956)
- rivolto - (s’ouvrir et se changer). Trio für Englischhorn (Oboe), Viola und Kontrabass (1989)

Tristan Murail (*1947)
c’est un jardin secret, ma soeur, ma fiancée, une source scellée,
une fontaine close ... Pour alto seul (1976)

Bernd Alois Zimmermann (1918–70)
Sonate für Viola solo (1955)

Heinz Holliger (*1939) Souvenirs trémaësques für Viola aus: Concerto für Orchester (2000/01)

Márton Illés (*1975) Psychogramm I Jajgatós (Jammernd) für Viola (2013)

Hans Werner Henze (1926–2012) An Brenton. Solo für Viola (1993)

Elliott Carter (1908–2012)
Elegy for Viola and Piano (1943, rev. 1961)

Portrait Rumi Ogawa

›perc.width‹ by Rumi Ogawa (percussion) unites chamber music works for very different instrumentations, illustrating Ogawa's notion of percussion as a set of instruments which »is expanded by other instruments to produce multiple sounds«.

  • Composers
  • Jarrod Cagwin
  • Keiko Harada
  • Magnus Lindberg
  • Alfred Schnittke
  • Manfred Stahnke

Rumi Ogawa (Schlagzeug), David Haller (Schlagzeug), Slavik Stakhov (Schlagzeug), Ueli Wiget (Klavier, Harfe), Jagdish Mistry (Violine), Michael M. Kasper (Violoncello), Stefan Hussong (Akkordeon)

  • CD
  • EM Medien
  • EMCD-035
  • Release: 2017
  • Total playing time: 60.52


Keiko Harada (*1968)
Rondo Variations für Klarinette, Schlagzeug und Klavier (2006)

Jarrod Cagwin (*1974)
Muttekopf für 3 Musiker und 4
Uchiwa Taiko (2010)

Manfred Stahnke (*1951)
Skins & Strings (2006)

Alfred Schnittke (1943–1998)
Hymnus I für Violoncello, Harfe und Pauken (1974)

Magnus Lindberg (*1958)
Metal Work für Akkordeon und Schlagzeug (1984)

Woher? Wohin? – Mythen, Nation, Identitäten

  • Composers
  • Matej Bonin
  • František Chaloupka
  • Andris Dzenītis
  • Paweł Hendrich
  • Kristaps Pētersons
  • Jānis Petraškevičs
  • Nina Šenk
  • Judit Varga


Musicians: Ensemble Modern

Conductors: Peter Eötvös, Clemens Heil, Anu Tali

  • 2 CDs
  • EM Medien
  • EMCD-037/ EMCD-038
  • Release: 2017
  • Total playing time: 137.54


CD 1

Paweł Hendrich: Sedimetron for Ensemble (2012) in memoriam Andrzej Chłopecki Peter Eötvös, Leitung 15.00

Nina Šenk: Twenty In Five for speaker and Ensemble (2012) ONE: The beginning TWO: First impression THREE: Facts (the beginning and the journey) Artists (criticism of the culture, of the nation) FOUR: Pessimistic views of the present FIVE: Views towards the future Anu Tali, Leitung 19.10

Judit Varga: Entitas for twelve musicians (2012) Clemens Heil, Leitung 20.25

Kristaps Pētersons: Money for conducted Ensemble (2012) I Money economic boom / economic crisis II Money solution Anu Tali, Leitung 14.23

CD 2

Matej Bonin: Kaleidoscope für Ensemble (2012) Peter Eötvös, Leitung 16.52

František Chaloupka: Mašin Gun – The Seven Rituals for purging the Czech Lands from the Spirit of Communism – für Ensemble (2012) I Intro Ritual II–VI Ritual VII Outro Ritual Peter Eötvös, Leitung 16.03

Jānis Petraškevičs: Darkroom – A fantasy piece for Ensemble (2012) #1 Motto (...SCHumAnn/Aufschwung ...) #2 Clemens Heil, Leitung 11.50

Andris Dzenītis: Latvian Cookbook for Ensemble (2011/12) Sätze I–IV sowie VII–VIII Peter Eötvös, Leitung 24.05


  • Composer
  • David Hudry


Musicians: Ensemble Modern

Conductors: Pascal Rophé, Bastien Stil, Duncan Ward

  • CD
  • col legno
  • WWE 1CD 40418
  • Release: 2017
  • Total playing time: 79.16


Nachtspiegel (2008)

Ensemble Modern, Duncan Ward, Leitung 26.59

Störungen (2011)

ensemble recherche 17.13

Introduction à Iðavöllr (2013)

Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France - Mikko Franck (GMD) Pascal Rophé, Leitung 11.42

the Forgotten City (2015/16)

Ensemble intercontemporain, Bastien Stil, Leitung 23.14